Scan me!
Event Calendar
Exhibition

Songs of a Futile Journey: Silk Road Songbook Songmingyan

2021.12.11 - 2022.05.22 closed

“Songs of a Futile Journey: 

Silk Road Songbook Songmingyan”

Artist: Millie Chen (Canada), Arzu Ozkal (U.S.), thruoutin (U.S.), Zhang Yaqian (China)

Curator: Wang Mengmeng

Live performance: Qi Huanying (Vocalist)

Curatorial Assistant: Shen Qi

Cinematography and Post-production: Niu Tong

 

OCAT Xi’an is honored to announce that at the end of this year, together with the curator Wang Mengmeng, based in Xi’an, and four artists from different countries will present the exhibition “Songs of a Futile Journey: Silk Road Songbook Songmingyan”. Silk Road Songbook (hereinafter referred to as SRS) is a unique cross-culture, multi-media, socially driven art project jointly initiated by artists Millie Chen (Canada) and Arzu Ozkal (U.S.).

The culture of the ancient Silk Road was driven by the power of communication and integration that people formed during their migration. The project integrates songs into the diversified natural landscape of Eurasia countries along the Silk Road. The unique and independent voice transmitted in ancient Eurasia mainly on the migration routes,  challenge the oriental exoticism and traditional tourism industry’s clichés. It also challenges "Silk Road" macro narrative tendency by conveying the individual stories of SRS.

The project works are composed of audio-visual devices and folk songs from various places along the Silk Road. Songs are channels for us to collectively remember, hold on and speak out. Songs have a moving power to promote people to speak out, to pessimism into optimism. In working with teams from different countries, SRS not only tells their stories, but also shows the meaning of our existence today. Recalling the stories of our respective ancestors and immigrants along the Silk Road traces a narrative that is personal, historical and political.

The project follows the ancient Eurasia trade route across eastern, central and west Asia. Artists from different places living in the route line of Gansu Songmingyan (historically Longyou, China), Parkent (historically Tashkent, Uzbekistan), Tehran (historically Rye, Iran), and Istanbul (historically Constantinople, Turkey), have worked together to create songs in different styles that speak to their respective loci and cultural identities. Driven by women's voices and anchored by the natural landscapes of countries along the Silk Road, the works build a flexible and creative space-time network that is different from the economic and political models from ancient times to the present.

"Tu Ge (song without music accompaniment): SRS Songmingyan" is the focus of the chapter on Northwest China of the Silk Road Songbook project. Hua'er (a kind of folk song) was chosen to represent the Chinese part of SRS as folk voice because of its unique geographical and ethnic attributes. According to records, Hua'er originated in the Ming dynasty across the Northwest of Gansu, Ningxia, Qinghai and Xinjiang, by the ethnic minority people of Hui, Han, Sala, Bonan, Dongxiang, Tu, Yugur and Tibetan, as the main body of a kind of unique folk songs and folk culture. As a microcosm of the Northwest ethnic culture, Hua'er forms a network of national culture and cultural system across space and time. The melody of Hua'er is high and desolate. Its content is mainly about the burning emotions and daily life in rural areas; a "living" folk art that is sung in local life. In ancient Chinese, "Tu Ge" refers to the singing without musical accompaniment in the kind of folk music as Hua'er. The word "Tu" has the meaning of "vain" and "mere", which is the unique "bitter" scent in Northwest Hua'er and also the core characteristic of Hua'er’s chanting since ancient times.

SRS project participants come from different ethnic and community groups. The essence of SRS project is open discussion, decision-making and the spirit of endless experimentation among team members from different countries. Because of the influence of the global epidemic outbreak, SRS project has to make long distance cooperation with each national team. We adopted the method of network and digital media skillfully to resolve the invisible line called "boundary", through the voice and image which connect the participants from different time zones to the concept of "New Silk Road". Therefore, at this moment, the Silk Road reveals a more realistic global significance.

Wang Mengmeng

 

The exhibition runs from December 11th, 2021 to March 27th, 2022.

 

About the Artists

Millie Chen is a Professor in the Department of Art, University at Buffalo, The State University of New York. Millie Chen’s artistic practice is derived from the pursuit of social justice. She works with video, audio, and performance as the manifestation of this pursuit. She uses sensory experience to stimulate the audience’s awareness and ideological ideas, and through non-visual elements such as sounds, smell, audience participation and collaboration to change understanding of the world as communicated via sound. For more than a decade, she has devoted herself to studying the intangible history of landscapes and places that, due to many factors, remain erased. 

Arzu Ozkal is a Turkish-born artist, designer and researcher currently living and working in San Diego, California. Arzu Ozkal is an Associate Professor in the School of Art + Design, San Diego State University. Her focus is on design that seeks creative and critical results through participation and collaboration. Ozkal is a founding member of Home Affairs, an interdisciplinary art club that focuses on creative projects on a range of issues affecting the lives of women.

thruoutin (Brad M. Seippel), Electronic musician, DJ, and producer, thruoutin, is from New Orleans, USA, and has lived in China for 12 years. He has created diversified musical styles, combining warm electronic sounds with Chinese folk music. You can hear a variety of artistic creative thinking in his music, especially his love for sampling of nature and physical electronic sounds. His music has been published on both RAN Music and Jingweir. The artist currently lives in Chaoyang District, Beijing, and runs the studio Brevity of Motion.

Zhang Yaqian was born in May 1977 in Gansu Province. He currently lives and works in Xi’an. In 2009, he graduated with a master’s degree from the Department of Print-making, Xi’an Academy of Fine Arts. Thereafter, he was retained on the faculty, and is currently teaching in the Department of Experimental Art. He is also a doctoral candidate in the research of art history and artistic creation, mainly engaged in the teaching and practice of contemporary art.

 

About the Curator

Wang Mengmeng, curator, professor of Xi'an Academy of Fine Arts, Director of the Public Art Department, doctor of art theory. Wang Mengmeng has published several books, alongside articles published in New Art, Art Research, Art Observation, Art Monthly, Contemporary Artists, etc. Her work won an Award of Excellence in the 12th National Fine Arts Exhibition, Bronze Award in "China Contemporary Glass Art Exhibition", etc. She has been involved in recommending candidates for many youth art exhibitions including "The Second Circle Art Youth Award" and "New Star is Rising". An independent curator of numerous contemporary art exhibitions, Wang Mengmeng has worked with many art institutions, including the National Art Museum of China, Beijing, the Waterfront Gallery, Minories Gallery, OCAT Xi'an, Xi'an Art Museum, Xi'an Contemporary Art Museum, Cui Zhenkuan Art Museum, Xi'an, Sichuan Fine Arts Institute Art Museum, Chongqing, and LSD & GD-Lighting and so on. Now she is mainly engaged in teaching and curating contemporary art exhibitions.

Opening Time

2021 12.11(Saturday) 14:00

Chief Curator

Wang Mengmeng

Artist

Zhang Yaqian, Millie Chen

Scan me!
活动日历
展览

徒歌:SRS 松鸣岩

2021.12.11 - 2022.03.27 1个月后结束

徒歌:SRS 松鸣岩

艺术家:Millie Chen(加拿大)、Arzu Ozkal(美国)、thruoutin(美国)、张亚谦(中国)

策展人:王檬檬

现场演出:漆换英(花儿歌手)

策展助理:沈淇

摄影及后期:牛童

 

OCAT西安馆很荣幸地宣布将于今年的尾声联合常驻西安的策展人王檬檬与四位来自不同国度的艺术家共同呈现展览《徒歌:SRS松鸣岩》。SRS(Silk Road Songbook)全称《丝路歌集》,由艺术家Millie Chen(加拿大)和Arzu Ozkal(美国)共同发起,是一个跨文化领域、多种媒介的、具有社会驱动性的独特艺术项目。

古丝绸之路上的文化因人们在迁徙途中所形成的交流与融合的力量而驱动。该项目将歌曲融入丝绸之路沿线欧亚大陆国家各异的自然景观之中,使独特的、独立的声音在古老的欧亚大陆主要迁徙路线上传播,挑战有关东方异国情调与传统旅游业的陈词滥调,也通过传达每一个SRS的个体故事来挑战“丝绸之路”宏观化的叙事倾向。

项目作品由视听装置和丝路沿线各地的民间歌声组成,歌曲是我们能够集体思念、铭记、坚持、和发声的渠道,歌曲有着一种推动人们坚强的发声的、化悲观为乐观的动人力量。在与各国团队合作的过程中,SRS不仅讲述他们的故事,也同时展现出今天我们存在的意义——追怀丝绸之路我们各自的祖先和移民们的故事,将追溯到一条既有个人境遇又具有历史意义的叙事线索。

项目选址追溯到了古代跨越东、中、西亚的欧亚大陆贸易之路的一条主干道上,由居住在这条线路上的甘肃松鸣岩(古称陇右,中国)、帕尔肯特(古称石国,乌兹别克斯坦)、德黑兰(古称拉伊,伊朗)、伊斯坦布尔(古称君士坦丁堡,土耳其)等多地艺术家们共同创作了为各自所在地与文化认同发声的、风格各异的歌曲,作品以女性的声音为驱动力,以丝路沿线的国家的自然景观为锚点,从而构建一个不同于从古至今经济政治模式的、更具有弹性与创造性的时空网络。

《徒歌:SRS松鸣岩》是《丝路歌集》项目对中国西北一章的聚焦。选择花儿作为民间声音的代表来呈现SRS中国部分,是因为它具有独特的地域和民族属性。据记载,花儿起源于明代,是跨越西北甘、宁、青、新四省区, 由回、汉、撒拉、保安、东乡、土、裕固和藏族作为传唱主体的一种特有的山歌和民俗文化,作为西北民族文化的缩影,花儿形成了一个跨越时空的民族文化网络和文化系统。花儿曲调高亢苍凉,内容多为炙烈的情感和农村日常生活,是至今仍然在当地生活中传唱着的、“活着的”民间艺术。“徒歌”在古汉语中指花儿这类民间音乐中没有伴奏的清唱,“徒”字有徒然、仅仅之意,是西北花儿中独有的“苦意”,也是自古花儿唱诵中的核心特质。

SRS项目的参与者们来自不同民族和社区群体,本质是各国团队成员之间共同参与的、开放的观点讨论与决策和无止境的实验精神。由于全球疫情的影响,SRS项目不得不与各国团队远距离合作,好在我们采取网络和数字化媒体的方式巧妙地化解了名为“边界”的无形的线,通过声音与图像将来自不同时区的参与者以“新丝绸之路”这个概念重新连接起来,因此,丝绸之路在此时此刻生发出了更为现实的全球化意义。

展览将于2021年12月11日至2022年3月27日展出。

 

关于艺术家

Millie Chen,她的艺术实践是来源于对社会公正性的追求,她以视频、音频和表演作为作品表现形式,利用感官体验,刺激观众的感知和意识形态的设想,并通过如声音、气味、观众参与性、协作性等的非视觉元素,在听觉传达视觉方面,颠覆人们以往的认知。在过去十多年中,她致力于研究地景和地域间由于诸多因素而不可考证的无形的历史。

Arzu Ozkal,土耳其出生、目前生活工作在加利福尼亚州圣地亚哥的艺术家、设计师和研究员,她的工作重点是设计在通过参与和协作等方式去寻找创造性和关键性成果的设计。Ozkal是Home Affairs的创始成员,这是一个跨学科的艺术团体,专注于关于影响女性生活的一系列问题的创意项目。

thruoutin(Brad M. Seippel),来自美国新奥尔良的电子音乐家,DJ和兼音乐制作人, 已定居中国十二年。他创造多元化的音乐风格,把奇怪的温情电子音乐和中国民乐结合在一起。你可以听到多种艺术创作思维在他的音乐里,尤其是对大自然的采样和物理电子声音的钟爱。“燃音乐”和“京味儿”等都曾发行过他的音乐。艺术家目前居住在北京朝阳区,并经营工作室 Brevity of Motion Sounds。

张亚谦,1977年5月出生于甘肃。现工作、生活于西安。2009年毕业于西安美术学院版画系,获硕士学位,同年留校任教。现为实验艺术系专业教师,艺术史与艺术创作研究方向在读博士,主要从事当代艺术的教学与实践活动。

 

关于策展人

王檬檬,策展人,西安美术学院教授,艺术学理论博士。关注当代艺术在地性与国际化、个体与历史的关系问题,研究论文发表于《新美术》、《美术研究》、《美术观察》、《画刊》、《当代美术家》等;曾任第四届常青藤计划”、“第二届圈子艺术青年奖”、“新星正在升起”等青年艺术展览推介人。作为独立策展人策划多个展览。曾在中国美术馆、英国Waterfront 画廊、Minories 画廊、OCAT 西安馆、西安美术馆、西安当代美术馆、西安崔振宽美术馆、深圳华侨城创意文化园北区C2展厅、四川美术学院美术馆、西安方所等多个美术馆展出。主要从事策展、研究、教学、创作等,现生活和工作于西安。

开幕时间

2021 12.11(周六) 14:00

主策展人

王檬檬

艺术家

张亚谦Millie Chen